City Boards and Commissions

Contact Information
Development Services
500 15th Avenue SW
Cedar Rapids IA, 52404
Phone: 319-286-5780

The City Planning Commission consists of 9 volunteer members who are appointed by the Mayor & City Council for a term of approximately 3 to 5 years. Members should have knowledge or experience in the planning process, zoning codes, land uses, the comprehensive plan for the city, and in the decision-making process regarding the comprehensive and long-range development of the community. Persons interested in serving on the Commission may follow the steps found here to apply.

The City Planning Commission was established by City Code to review and make recommendations to the City Council on various land development issues including proposed City Comprehensive Plans, zoning regulations, requests for the rezoning of land, site development plans, conditional use requests, and subdivision of land.

Meeting Information
The City Planning Commission meets on the first Thursday of the month at 3:00 P.M. Please see the meeting schedule for meeting dates and submittal deadline dates for matters that come before the Commission. Meeting agendas are usually posted Friday of the week prior to a Commission meeting. Minutes of the City Planning Commission are posted after they are approved by the Commission at their next regular meeting.



City Planning Commission Bylaws

Under certain circumstances the City Planning Commission will hold a special meeting to assist a development in Cedar Rapids. Requests for a Special CPC meeting must meet the following criteria:

  1. The project meets goals of the City.
  2. A timing issue caused by the City.

The City Planning Commission will not hold a special meeting due to:

  1. Poor planning on the applicant’s part.
  2. The applicant was unaware of City procedures.
  3. A conflict between two private parties.
  4. Incomplete submittals or issues with the information provided by the applicant.

Current Members

  • Jim Halverson (2024) - Chair
  • Dina Igram Dusek (2025)
  • Amy Homan (2023)
  • Samantha Dahlby (2025)
  • Fred Timko (2025)
  • Lisa Peloquin (2025)
  • Kimberly King (2024)
  • Virginia Wilts (2023)

Term expirations on June 30 of the year in parenthesis above.

Related Links


© 2024  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login