Home > News List > Cedar Rapids Earns Walk Friendly Designation

Cedar Rapids Earns Walk Friendly Designation

Cedar Rapids Earns Walk Friendly Designation

April 17, 2019

Cedar Rapids Earns Walk Friendly Designation

Walk Friendly Communities full logoThe City of Cedar Rapids has been recognized with a Walk Friendly Designation by the Walk Friendly Communities program, recognizing its commitment to prioritize pedestrians and create safe, comfortable, and inviting places to walk.

Cedar Rapids is the only community in Iowa to have this distinction, and one of only four communities across the country to receive a designation this year. Cedar Rapids earned a Bronze designation.

Communities recognized by the Walk Friendly Communities program this year include.

San Francisco, California

Portsmouth, New Hampshire

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Lakeland, Florida

A Walk Friendly Community is a city or town that has shown a commitment to improving and sustaining walkability and pedestrian safety through comprehensive programs, plans, and policies. Communities apply to the program to receive recognition in the form of a Bronze, Silver, Gold, or Platinum designation.

Cedar Rapids was recognized for its momentum with current plans and programs, including the forthcoming Pedestrian Master Plan, ADA efforts, Healthiest State Walk held annually, adoption of a new pedestrian-friendly zoning code, and numerous infrastructure improvements that are pedestrian and walk friendly.

Walk Friendly Communities is a national recognition program developed to encourage cities and towns across the United States to develop and support walking environments with an emphasis on safety, mobility, access, and comfort. In the ten years since the program began, it has recognized 73 cities across 32 states with Walk Friendly designations.

To learn more: http://walkfriendly.org/communities/


© 2021  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login