HomeLocal GovernmentCity Boards and CommissionsArts and Entertainment > Parks and Recreation Commission

City Boards and Commissions

The Cedar Rapids Parks, Waterways & Recreation Commission was established by city Ordinance No. 044-14 in July 2014. This new commission replaced the Parks & Recreation Commission that was established by City Ordinance No. 025-09 in October 2009. The Parks, Waterways & Recreation Commission consists of eleven commission members who are residents of Cedar Rapids and serve without compensation. Representation consists of three members appointed at large, one appointed to golf, one appointed to Ushers Ferry Historic Village and two members appointed to each of the following constituencies:  Waterways & Conservation, Parks & Trails,  Recreation & Aquatics. The term of office for each member is three years.

The role of the Parks, Waterways & Recreation Commission is to act as an advisory commission to the City and to make studies and recommendations for the enhancement and promotion of recreational and river activities, programs, parks, trails and facilities within the City of Cedar Rapids Parks & Recreation Department. The department provides staff support to the commission.

Meetings are held at 7:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday of the month at the City Services Center (CSC), 500 15th Ave. SW, Cedar Rapids, IA 52404.

Agendas & Minutes

Commission Officers:
Dawn Foster-Peek, Chair (2023)
Chris Thoms, Vice Chair (2024)

Commission Members:
Bill Desmarais (2023)
John Bickel (2025)
Kate Gioe (2025)
John Hansen (2025)
Edwin Montgomery (2025)
Keri Sweeting (2024)
Lemi Tilahun (2023)
Bill Unger (2024)
Crystal Walter (2023)

Ex-Officio Member
Jay Fanta

Contact Information
Brittany Wolf
Parks & Recreation Department
City Services Center (CSC)
500 15th Avenue SW
Cedar Rapids, IA 52402


© 2023  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login