City Boards and Commissions


Cedar Rapids has a "Home Rule" charter which establishes a City Council made up of a part-time Mayor and City Council both elected on four year terms. The eight-member Council is divided into five districts. One council member is elected from each district and the remaining three members are elected on an at-large basis.

The Home Rule Charter approved by Cedar Rapids voters in June 2005 requires the City Council appoint a Charter Review Commission in 2011 and every 10 years after that. The Commission shall review the existing charter and may recommend any charter amendments that it deems appropriate to the Council.

City Council approved the creation of the Charter Review Commission on April 12, 2011 and appointed 13 members. One member has resigned. The Charter Review Commission is directed to submit its final report to the Mayor and City Council no later than August 15, 2011.

The Charter Review Commission presented its final report to the Mayor and City Council tentatively at the August 9, 2011 City Council meeting. Click here to see that report.

The Charter Review Commission will be INACTIVE until 2021.

Contact Information
City Manager's Office
101 First Street SE
Cedar Rapids, IA 52401
Phone: (319) 286-5080

Public Forum
Public Forum Citizen Comments

Commission Members
Paul Pate - Co-Chair
Kay Halloran - Co-Chair
Nancy Bruner
LaNisha Cassell
Monica Challenger
James Craig
Tricia Miller
Mary Nelson
Scott Overland
Robin Tucker
Nancy Welsh
Carl Whiting
Charter Review Commission Final Report

© 2021  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login