HomeCRN > Old Cleveland School


Old Cleveland School

Old Cleveland School from 1920-1950 at 1500 First Avenue NW, former Chandler mansion, The History Center clipping files.

 In 1909, a beautiful new home was built at 1500 First Avenue NW for Charles H. Chandler and his family. Mr. Chandler was the    longtime owner and operator of the Chandler Pump Company in the 800 block of First Avenue NW. The “Chandler Mansion”        featured elaborate ornamental features, all made of oak on the   interior. The exterior front entrance was highlighted by large Roman-style columns. When the house was only eleven years old, it was sold to the Cedar Rapids school district, and in the fall of 1920, it became the first Cleveland Elementary School. For thirty years, thousands of students enjoyed going to classes in this unique old house. In January 1950, Cleveland Elementary moved to a new building at 2200 First Avenue NW. The old Cleveland Elementary School/Chandler Mansion was later used by the Central Church of Christ. The church demolished the old mansion in May 1976 and built an addition to their church building. The wall that surrounds the block that the former Chandler Mansion/old Cleveland School stood on still survives today.  

Mark W. Stoffer Hunter, Research Historian, The History Center


© 2022  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login