HomeLocal GovernmentCity Boards and CommissionsGovernment Operations > Historic Preservation Commission

City Boards and Commissions

Contact Information
Community Development
101 First Street SE
Cedar Rapids IA, 52401
Phone: 319-286-5041

Staff Liaison:

Adam Lindenlaub


Local Historic Surveys
Farmstead Foods Collection
History Center Digital Collection
Link Belt Speeder History Booklet
T.M. Sinclair History Booklet
Iowa Historic Preservation Office
National Preservation Briefs
Bob Yapp - Window Information
Improving Energy Efficiency in Old Buildings


Historic Preservation Commission

The Cedar Rapids Historic Preservation Commission makes recommendations on National Register of Historic Places nominations and local historic district designation. With City Council approval, the Historic Preservation Commission initiates historic preservation studies designed to identify and preserve the City’s historic building resources. The Commission also reviews and approves applications for Certificates of Appropriateness in local historic districts and local historic landmarks.

Regular meetings are held at the City Services Center, 500 15th Avenue SW, at 4:30 p.m. on the second Thursday of each month. The Commission also meets on the 4th Thursday of the month, when necessary.



On July 1, 2017, the Historic Preservation Commission (HPC) will be comprised of up to nine volunteers appointed by the Mayor and approved by the City Council for three year terms. Those interested in serving on the Commission may submit a completed City application, by following these steps.

Current Members:

  • BJ Hobart (2018)
  • Todd McNall (2019)  
  • Amanda McKnight-Grafton (2018)
  • Ronald Mussman (2019)
  • Tim Oberbroeckling (2018) - Vice Chair
  • Mark Stoffer Hunter (2019) - Chair
  • Heather Sundermann (2020)
  • Barbara Westercamp (2018)

 Term expirations on June 30 of the year in parenthesis above.

Learn More:


© 2018  Cedar Rapids, Iowa, 101 First Street SE

Powered By Revize Login